W e l c o m e      T o      I n f o T e m p l e s

  • Please Like & Follow Us On       
Astadasa Sakthi Peetham

Astadasa Sakthi Peetham

By: Hari Prasad Doddi On: 2015-05-28 Category: Temples Views: 6354
Have You Liked It?     107 Like      0 Dislike

The Shakti Peethas (heavenly places of infinite force) are places of worship consecrated to the goddess 'Shakti', the female principle of Hinduism and the fundamental divinity of the Shakti sect. Shaktipeeth are sprinkled all through the Indian subcontinent. This goddess is often related both with Gorri/ Parvati, the generous goddess of harmony, conjugal felicity and longevity, with Durga, goddess of strength and valour, and with Mahakali, goddess of destruction of the evil.


 As per legend, in Satya Yuga, Daksha (who was the child of Lord Brahma) performed a yagna in a spot called Kankhal (close Haridwar) This Yagna was named Vrihaspati Yagna .He performed this Yagna with a craving of taking revenge on Lord Shiva. Daksha was angry because his daughter Sati (one of his 27 little girls) had married the "yogi" God Shiva against his wishes. Daksha welcomed all the gods to the yagna with the exception of Shiva and Sati. The way that she was not welcomed did not stop Sati from going to the yagna. She had expressed her desire to attend to Shiva, who had attempted his best to dissuade her from going. Shiva eventually allowed her to go escorted by his ganas.

In any case, Sati, being an uninvited visitor, was not given any respect by his dad. Moreover, Daksha offended Shiva. Sati was not able to bear her father's insults toward her spouse, so she submitted suicide by hopping into the yagna fire (conciliatory flame)

At the point when Lord Shiva found out about her demise he got to be irate. He alongside his ganas (supporters) went to the spot where Daksha was performing his oblation, destroyed everything there and killed Daksha.

Lord Shiva then carried the corpse of Sati and began dancing (Shiva Thandavam) angrily all over the place like a lunatic. The other gods intervened to stop this dance.

To bring down his indignation, Lord Vishnu severed the dead body with his Sudarshan chakra. Various parts of the body fell at various places all through the Indian subcontinent and formed the locales of which are known as Shaktipeeth.

The present day urban areas or towns that correspond to these locations can be a matter of dispute, yet there are few locations that are absolutely unambiguous, these are mentioned in the Ashta Dasa Shakthi Peetha Stotram by Adi Shankara. This list contains 18 such locations which are often referred as Maha Shakthi Peethas

Name of Sakthi


Shankari Devi

Trincomalee (Sri Lanka)

Kamakshi Devi

Kanchi (Tamil Nadu)

Srunkhala Devi

Pradyumna* (West Bengal)

Chamundeshwari Devi

Mysore (Karnataka)

Jogulamba Devi

Alampur (Andhra Pradesh)

Bhramaramba Devi

Srisailam(Andhra Pradesh)

Mahalakshmi Devi


Ekaveerika Devi


Mahakali Devi

Ujjain(Madhya Pradesh)

Puruhutika Devi

Pithapuram(Andhra Pradesh)

Purnagiri Devi

Tanakpur (Uttrakhand India)

Manikyamba Devi

Draksharamam(Andhra Pradesh)

Kamarupa Devi


Madhaveswari Devi

Prayaga(Uttar Pradesh)

Vaishnavi Devi

Kangra(Himachal Pradesh)

Sarvamangala Devi


Vishalakshi Devi

Varanasi(Uttar Pradesh)

Saraswathi Devi


[*] The temple is currently non-existent. Only a few ruins are found in these places. Instead, Sringeri in Karnataka is believed to be the Shakti Peetha of this aspect of the goddess.

Among these, the Shakti Peethas at Kamakhya, Gaya and Ujjain are regarded as most sacred as they symbolise three most important aspects of mother Goddess viz. Creation (Kamarupa Devi), Nourishment (Sarvamangala Devi/Mangalagauri) and Annihilation (Mahakali Devi).


Note: If you have any complaints/concerns with regards to the content in this post, please write to admin@infotemples.com




Have You Liked It?     107 Like      0 Dislike
Be the first person to post a comment.

Leave a Comment

Share Your Feedback

Your valuable feedback will help us to serve you better.

Contact Us