W e l c o m e      T o      I n f o T e m p l e s

  • Please Like & Follow Us On       
Char Dham

Char Dham

By: Hari Prasad Doddi On: 2015-05-28 Category: Temples Views: 2067
Have You Liked It?     53 Like      1 Dislike

"Char" signifies "Four" and "Dham" signifies "Adobe". Char Dham, the four heavenly residences, accepted to be the abodes of Hindu divine beings and the holiest spots of pilgrimage. The Char Dham are considered as the most sacred destinations for Hindus. There are two circuits of Char Dham destinations in India, one is the bigger circuit and scattered in the four directions of India and another is the smaller circuit and situated in the state of Uttarakhand.

Originally the Char Dham (bigger circuit) referred to a religious circuit group together by Adi Shankaracharya, during the 8th century, situated at four unique corners of India. This Char Dham is known as "Char Dham of India", "Char Dham of Adi Shankaracharya".

Over the course of the years another Char Dham (smaller circuit) evolved in Garhwal Himalayas, where Adi Shankaracharya attained freedom from embodiment. Since 1960s, the significance of this Char Dham has grown impressively and is known as "Chota Char Dham", "Char Dham of Himalaya", "Char Dham of Uttarakhand".


Char Dham of India:

Char Dham, the names of four pilgrimage sites in India that are widely revered by Hindus. It comprises Badrinath, Dwarka, Puri and Rameswaram. It is considered highly sacred by Hindus to visit Char Dham during one's lifetime.

According to Hindu mythology, Badrinath became prominent when Nar-Narayan, an incarnation of Vishnu did Tapasya there. At that time that place was filled with Plum trees. In Sanskrit language they are called Badri, so the place was named Badrika-Van i.e. the forest of Plums. The particular spot where the Nar-Narayan resided was therefore called Badri-Nath i.e. the Lord of Plum forest. This all happened in the Sat-Yuga. So the Badrinath came to be known the first Dham.

The Second Dham, the Rameswaram got its importance in the Treta-Yug when Lord Rama built a Shiv-ling here and worshipped it to get the blessings of Lord Shiva. The name Rameswaram means "the God of Lord Rama". Rama himself is considered an incarnation of Lord Vishnu.

The Third Dhaam, Dwarka got its importance in Dwapar Yug when Lord Krishna another incarnation of Lord Vishnu, made Dwarka his residence instead of Mathura, his birthplace.

The Fourth Dham, Puri is the site of the Govardhana Mata, one of the four cardinal institutions or Mataas established by Adi Shankaracharya. Brahma, Vishnu & Maheswara three are together in all-time every place. In Kali yuga Sreemandir as Jagannath temple in Puri. Jagannath-Vishnu, Balabhadra-Maheswara & Subhadra-Brahma.


Temple of Lord Vishnu, located in the North is in the state of Uttarakhand, India


Temple of Lord Shiva, located in the South is in the state of Tamil Nadu, India


Temple of Lord Krishna, located in the West is in the state of Gujarat, India


Temple of Lord Jagannath, located in the East is in the state of Orissa, India


Chota Char Dham:

In Hinduism, the Chota Char Dham is viewed as a crucial Hindu journey circuit in the Indian Himalayas. The picture perfect location in the Garhwal segment of the state of Uttarakhand, comprises of four locales - Yamunotri, Gangotri, Kedarnath and Badrinath. The entire site in the circuit has the support of a self-sufficient history. They are seen as hot destinations due to their excellent regions and additionally explorer focuses. The Char Dham has dependably been seen as a source to interact with the heavenly power. The mysterious journey has been said as "Kedarkhand" in old Hindu scriptures.

The journey towards Chardham must be begun from left to right - i.e. starting with Yamunotri, then proceeding onward to Gangotri, Kedarnath before completing the trip at Badrinath. This specific selection of the course really takes after the Hindu custom of Parikrama or Clockwise movement.


Origin of River Yamuna, Temple of Goddess Yamuna


Origin of Rive Ganga, Temple of Goddess Ganga


Temple of Lord Shiva, One of the 12 Jyothirlingas, Part of Pancha Kedar


Temple of Lord Vishnu, Knows as Badri Vishal


Note: If you have any complaints/concerns with regards to the content in this post, please write to admin@infotemples.com



Have You Liked It?     53 Like      1 Dislike
Be the first person to post a comment.

Leave a Comment

Share Your Feedback

Your valuable feedback will help us to serve you better.

Contact Us